Wireless network basics (802.11 standards)

Wireless networks, based on the IEEE 802.11 standards, provide a means of connecting devices without the need for physical cables. Here's an overview of the key aspects and standards within the 802.11 family:

  1. 802.11 Standards:

    • 802.11a: Released in 1999, 802.11a operates in the 5 GHz frequency band and provides data rates up to 54 Mbps. It uses orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) modulation and offers higher throughput but shorter range compared to 802.11b.

    • 802.11b: Also released in 1999, 802.11b operates in the 2.4 GHz frequency band and offers data rates up to 11 Mbps. It uses direct-sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) modulation and has better range but slower throughput compared to 802.11a.

    • 802.11g: Introduced in 2003, 802.11g operates in the 2.4 GHz frequency band and provides data rates up to 54 Mbps. It is backward compatible with 802.11b and uses OFDM modulation for increased throughput.

    • 802.11n: Released in 2009, 802.11n operates in both the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz frequency bands and offers significantly higher data rates (up to 600 Mbps) through the use of multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) technology and channel bonding.

    • 802.11ac: Introduced in 2013, 802.11ac operates exclusively in the 5 GHz frequency band and provides data rates up to several gigabits per second (Gbps). It uses advanced MIMO and beamforming techniques for improved performance and increased channel bandwidth.

    • 802.11ax (Wi-Fi 6): Released in 2019, 802.11ax is the latest standard in the 802.11 family. It operates in both the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz frequency bands and introduces various enhancements such as orthogonal frequency-division multiple access (OFDMA), target wake time (TWT), and uplink and downlink MU-MIMO (multi-user MIMO) to improve efficiency, capacity, and performance in high-density environments.

  2. Basic Terminology:

    • Access Point (AP): A wireless networking device that allows wireless devices to connect to a wired network.
    • SSID (Service Set Identifier): A unique identifier that distinguishes one wireless network from another.
    • BSSID (Basic Service Set Identifier): The MAC address of a wireless access point in a wireless network.
    • Channel: A specific frequency range used for wireless communication within the frequency band.
    • Association: The process by which a wireless client device connects to an access point and becomes part of the wireless network.
    • Authentication: The process of verifying the identity of a wireless client device before allowing access to the network.
    • Encryption: The process of encoding data to prevent unauthorized access or interception during transmission over the wireless network.
  3. Security Protocols:


    • WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy): An early security protocol for wireless networks that provides basic encryption but is vulnerable to several security weaknesses.
    • WPA (Wi-Fi Protected Access): A security protocol introduced to address the vulnerabilities of WEP. It includes WPA-PSK (Pre-Shared Key) for personal use and WPA-Enterprise with a RADIUS server for enterprise environments.
    • WPA2: An improved version of WPA with stronger encryption algorithms and security features. It is currently the most widely used security protocol for Wi-Fi networks.
    • WPA3: The latest security protocol introduced in 2018, offering enhanced security features, including stronger encryption, protection against brute-force attacks, and individualized data encryption for each client device.

Understanding the basics of wireless networking and the various 802.11 standards is essential for designing, deploying, and managing wireless networks effectively while ensuring security and performance.




Indian Cyber Securiry

Research Papers

Case Study

Cyber Police